Wisconsin School Safety Coordinators Association

Log in

Submit your nominations for the 2021 Coordinator of the Year Award

Click here to complete the nomination form.

Nominations for School Safety Coordinator of the Year are due December 31, 2020.

Nominate someone or yourself today!

Even though our annual conference is cancelled, we want to recognize one of our WSSCA members who have demonstrated leadership, innovation and special skills and talents that have contributed to the improvement and maintenance of high-quality safety and security environments in their schools and communities.

Please nominate someone who deserves the recognition. 

The WSSCA School Safety Coordinator of the Year Award is co-sponsored by Community Insurance Corporation, which will present a $1,000 award to the winner’s school district safety program. 

Nomination Criteria:

Leadership for district or school program change.

The candidate has demonstrated leadership and has provided examples of a proven record of change in the dynamics of safety within the school and or district. Candidate has demonstrated sustained change over time in the implementation of safety programs for district or school compliance with standards.

Techniques developed or innovations used in program development including special projects.

The candidate has demonstrated the development of specialized techniques/innovations and has demonstrated excellence through the completion of specialized safety related projects.

Training and Specialized Skills.

The candidate has demonstrated a continuance in skill development and/or specialized skills used in the furtherance of the school safety program. The candidate possesses specialized skills learned through training or special programs. The candidate has demonstrated through examples of work, that the skills developed as part of ongoing training have lent themselves to the development of the safety program and the impetus to move the safety program.

Participation in WSSCA Events

The candidate is a member of WSSCA; has participated in WSSCA training opportunities offered through the association; has been involved as a board member or active participant in WSSCA. Graduation from the WSSCA Certification Course is an exceptional accomplishment and will be given special consideration by the judges. 

The School Safety Coordinator of the Year Award applications will be judged by the WSSCA Board of Directors and Advisor's.

Awad Recipients

WSSCA's Coordinator of the Year Award Recipients:

2020 - Shelley Joan Weiss - Sun Prairie Area School District

2019 - Carrie Hallquist - Eau Claire Area School District

2018 - Mike Hinske - Big Foot Union High School

2017 -
Mary Stapenek and Denise Woodruff - Waterford Graded School District

2016 -
Dale Zable and Laura Lloyd, Kettle Moraine School District

2015 -
Gary Siegman, Whitefish Bay School District

2014 -
Tom Wohlleber, Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District

2013 -
John Koster, Cedarburg School District

2012 -
Steve Lewis, Rice Lake Area School District

2011 -
Joe Bellomo, Waunakee Community School District

2010 -
Cindy VanPelt, Racine Unified School District

2009 -
Tom Grosjean, Ashland School District

2008 -
Tim Prunty, Antigo School District

2007 -
Mark Scullion, Monona Grove School District

2006 -
Robert Severson, Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District

2005 -
Erin Gauthier-Green, Greendale School District

2004 -
Ron Hoffman, Oconomowoc School District

2003 -
Warren Schmidt, West Bend School District

2002 -
Sam Hesse, Appleton Area School District

2001 -
Paul Buchholz, Beaver Dam School District

2000 -
Doug Reynolds, Beloit School District

1999 -
Douglas Fisk, Baraboo School District

1998 -
Lee Jorgenson, Schofield D.C. Everest

WSSCA’s Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

We have all known someone who has made a difference in our lives; in our organizations; in our profession. With over 300 members throughout the states of Wisconsin, Illinois, and Minnesota, finding outstanding professionals has never been a problem for this organization. Yet, recognizing those who have been accepted by their colleagues as the “best of the best,” has been, and should be, an infrequent honor bestowed upon very few – those of extraordinary success who have devoted their professional lives to WSSCA’s mantra: Keep Schools Safe.

WSSCA has reserved special recognition for these exceptional men and women. It is the highest award we present, and the name itself speaks volumes to the level of accomplishment and respect the recipient has earned over the course of his/her outstanding career.  We simply call it the Life Time Achievement Award.

As you read each name below, consider that thousands of WSSCA members over the past four decades who have been eligible. Maybe then you will understand the impact these individuals have had on this organization, the school safety discipline, and the students and schools we serve.

WSSCA is one of the oldest school safety organizations in the entire United States of America – and this is our Hall of Fame. We proudly present the recipients of the WSSCA Life Time Achievement Award

2019: Mike Hinske, Big Foot Union High School 

2016: Peter Pochowski, former WSSCA Executive Director 

2014: Joel Konze, Sparta Area School District  

2013: Gary Rosploch, Muskego-Norway School District 

2011: Robert Severson, Chippewa Falls Area School District 

2010: Bryan Roessler, former WSSCA Executive Director 

2008: Doug  Reynolds,  Beloit School District

2003: Richard "Dick" Klawiter, Univerity of Wisconsin-Platteville 

Friends of WSSCA’s Award

2015: Steve Fernan, DPI

2007: Mary Jean Erschen,  Executive Director, Center for School, Youth, & Citizen Preparedness

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software